The Shortlists: Maker of the Year 2020

Comments Comments

It's our pleasure to announce the shortlisted entries Maker of the Year 2020! We've had a fabulous response – 306 amazing entries over the four categories which have now been judged by our expert team Bern Chandley, Robert Howard, Laura McCusker and Adam Markowitz. We guarantee you it wasn't easy selecting amongst such a diverse and impressive range.

The Furniture category had the most entries and our top 20 are shown below. Top tens are shown for the other categories: Bowls & Boxes, Art & Accessories and Student. Congratulations to all!

Please note, the shortlisted entries are not shown in any particular order.


Furniture category, top to bottom, click on links to see each shortlisted entry:
Row 1: Julian Glencross McCartney, Nick Pedulla, Simeon Dux, Matthew Sherwen, Cory Beyrer
Row 2: Scott Clafton, Remy Tramoy, Nick Pedulla, Simeon Dux, Steven Manos
Row 3: Colin Whitehead, Marinos Drakopoulos, Patrick Holcombe, Greg Allan, Andrew Frost
Row 4: Colin Fardon, Brett Julian, Alexsandra Pontonio, Adam Webb, Myles Gostelow


Bowls & Boxes category, top to bottom:
Row 1: Benjamin Reddan, David Haig, Wayne Quick, Martin Burgoyne, Ken Fisher
Row 2: Rob Bloomfield, Steve Gianuzzi, Pierre Moens, Anthony Hoffrichter, Amichai Lankri


Art & Accessories category, top to bottom:
Row 1:
Grant Vaughan, Greg Hehir, Stephanie White, Vince Rush, Myles Gostelow
Row 2: Alby Johnston, Mark Rogers, Olivia O'Connor, Paul Mitchell, Myles Gostelow


Student category, top to bottom:
Row 1:
Kathryn Mawson, Ollie O'Rourke, Deborah Fryer, Charlotte Asbridge, Elsie Scullard
Row 2: Finn Hawkins, Ceri Aldiss, Alan Weng, Jackson Fairlie, Alice Wilson

The winners and runners-up will be announced in our December issue, out November 23. Australian Wood Review sells through newsagencies and specialist retailers. Subscribe to print and digital editions here.

See all entries in each category: Furniture, Bowls & Boxes, Art & Accessories and Student.

Entry details for Maker of the Year 2021 will be announced in February next year.

Maker of the Year is


Maker of the Year is proudly sponsored by



comments powered by Disqus