Clarence furniture design prize to go ahead in 2021

Comments Comments


Previous Clarence Prize winners, left to right: Hugh Altschwager, Bronze Bench, 2017; Bernard Chandley, Lowbow Dining Chair, 2016; Nicholas Fuller, Voyage, 2017. Photos: Samuel Shelly

From Clarence City Council, Tasmania

The Clarence Arts and Events team is extremely pleased to announce that the Clarence Prize for Excellence in Furniture Design will be going ahead in 2021. The Clarence Prize is a biennial exhibition run by the Clarence City Council in greater Hobart that is open to furniture designers and craftspeople of all career levels operating within Australia.

Held in the historic Rosny Barn, at the Rosny Farm Arts Centre, the prize contributes to Tasmania’s reputation as a leading cultural hub, brimming with vibrant arts experiences. Claire Beale (Design Tasmania) and Dr Scott Mayson (RMIT) will be the judges in 2021.

Entries are shortlisted based on the quality of aesthetic and craft, and ingenuity in function, purpose, material considerations and sustainability.

One acquisitive prize of $20,000 will be awarded to the winner as selected by the judging panel. The work will be acquired into the Clarence Art Collection. One non-acquisitive prize of $1,500 will be awarded for a work that is highly commended by the judges. One non-acquisitive encouragement award of $1,500 will be made to an emerging designer as selected by the judging panel.

Interstate finalists are eligible to receive up to $500 towards freighting their final entry to Rosny Farm. The closing date for entries and accompanying documentation is 14 February 2021. Applications received after this date will not be considered.

Learn more at this link.


comments powered by Disqus