Clarence Prize

Comments Comments


Liam Mugavin's Koto light (Tas oak, copper, LEDs), 2015 Clarence Prize winner

Clarence City Council’s Clarence Prize for Excellence in Furniture Design encourages excellence in art and design practice, while enhancing the City of Clarence’s art collection with significant works.

This biennial event has found its niche within Australia’s art community as a prize that celebrates accessible furniture art and is open to furniture designers operating within Australia.

The Prize contributes to Tasmania’s reputation as a leading cultural hub, brimming with vibrant arts experiences.

In 2017 one acquisitive prize of $20,000 will be awarded to the winner. The work will be acquired into the Clarence Collection. One non-acquisitive prize of $1,500 will be awarded for a work that is highly commended. One non-acquisitive encouragement award of $1,500 will be made to an emerging artist/designer.

The Clarence Prize 2017 finalists’ exhibition will be held from 8 Sept – 8 Oct in the Barn at Rosny Farm.

Entries close April 13

2015 Winners
Winner $20,000 acquisitive award
Liam Mugavin: Koto Light

Highly commended award
Andrew Bartlett and Deb Jones – Bench seat DAB 714

Emerging designer award
Isabel Hazbun

Previous Winners:
2013 Laura McCusker (TAS) for I-Beam Bench
2011 Simon Ancher (TAS) Clipped Wing Sideboard
2009 Fukutoshi Ueno (QLD) Dress Code Stools
2007 Sally Brown (TAS) Warp Bench

For further information contact the Gallery Coordinator or Arts and Cultural Development
Coordinator – Phone (03) 6217 9607 or Email  See also:

comments powered by Disqus